d8d8a05afdb7b54cb5899108361322ac

I know I have slacked a few days and I just started doing this, but it was a rough weekend with the storms (Alabama weather) and then Monday was SLAMMED. I mean, I have been there almost a full year (Law office) and one attorney just casually decides to drop me off something due by 4:30 and it was already 11. Needless to say, it was finished at 5:45. Exhausted. So, here we go.. 

This devotion talked about distance and it could be with God, a spouse, friend, etc. I got the opportunity to travel to Johannesburg, South Africa in December 2015-January 2016. I went because I needed to feel closer to God and I knew that no matter how many times I was at church, this was going to do it for me. Going to church was no longer making me feel close. I had to go and he found a way to send me.

The first few days I was so happy and disconnected I didn’t know what to do with myself. (I was there almost two weeks). The kids were great, worship was great, everything was great, but it wasn’t enough, until one particular night. Hours before when we had “break time” I sat in my bunker bed and just sat there thinking why I was feeling so distant to God. How do I go back? What if you really aren’t real? That night we had a bonfire and worship beforehand. I was a leader, so I was just there to guide the children at the camp. The pastor we had was amazing and I loved hearing him preach. When the preaching began, he started saying things that really felt like they were directed at me. Answering questions that I had asked not even two hours before. “Do you feel like you are so distant from God and you are just so desperate to get back to Him, but you don’t know how?” I mean it was almost word for word and directed at me. At that moment I began crying. I don’t know why, but I was just so emotional because I knew that God found a way to speak to me, to speak to my heart. He knew that I was distant and he called me back. I am back.

Sometimes when you stray from what is right, it just takes some time, but I know that He is REAL. He is my Savior and King. At that moment I knew my heart was with him, forever.

When I returned back to the states, I never told anyone that story. Of how I was feeling so alone and distant from God. Or how he basically was speaking to me through someone else, until now, if anyone is reading this. If you haven’t had this moment, I promise it’s coming. I’m also super excited to announce that in December of this year, I will be traveling with the same team to SPAIN!!

Below are some AWESOME pics from Africa:

12512821_442063802660278_2099803387263119935_nimg_6464img_6539

-ENDURE TO THE END-

